How I Define Success (And the philosophy behind it)

Posted: 03/28/2012 in Motivation

What is success?

I have a professor, who, in the short time I’ve known him, has had a huge effect on the way I view life as a whole. He says, “On my deathbed, will I wish I had an extra ten thousand dollars or wish I’d done that one thing I always dreamed of doing?” Think about it for a while. Think about how certain things have left you feeling more empty than others. As Bruce Lee said, “Life is meant to be lived.” I have always believed that to truly understand things in life, one must completely abandon all preconceptions one has about that thing. Assume everything you’ve been told is a lie. Once you’ve gotten rid of everything that everyone in your lifetime has put on you, all of the ideas that they’ve held and projected onto you, you can begin to see things as they really are. When I did this, when I threw away everything that I’d believed success was (the progressive valuation of a bank account, measuring your net worth in dollars as a person), my personal definition of success became clear. I had once been overweight, now I am fit. I knew this was success, but what defined it as success? Why did it make me happy?

I was now the person I was once jealous of. I once envied fit people, felt separated from them, and resented the difference. Hard work, the will to become better, had made me into the person I was once jealous of. That seemed like a pretty good definition of success.

So find out what really makes you happy. At the core. Do not let other people define success for you. Remove what society, your family, and friends told you and chase what you seek at the very base fabric of the being you are. If at the core, you are driven by money, chase it. But remember… chasing, that’s not the hard part. The hard part is chasing the right thing.

Comments
  1. Dish Nalal says:

    Word bro, word.

Leave a Reply

